One of the camera angles did put up a controversial call, but others failed to provide the umpire with any answer as Taylor was given the benefit of doubt.
Four overs before his dismissal by Ravindra Jadeja on the final afternoon of the opening Test against New Zealand in Kanpur, veteran New Zealand batsman Ross Taylor survived a close stumping call, against Ravichandran Ashwin after the third umpire was unable to come to a conclusion.
It was in the final delivery of the 57th over. Taylor lost his balance in an attempt to play the flick shot. Wicketkeeper KS Bharat, who replaced Wriddhiman Saha on day 4 owing to the veteran’s stiff neck, was quick on realising it and collected the ball to dis-bail the stumps. Did Taylor get his backfoot inside the crease in time?
The on-field umpire referred it upstairs but the third umpire failed to come to a conclusion after repeatedly viewing the stumping. One of the angles did put up a controversial call, but others failed to provide the umpire with any answer as Taylor was given the benefit of doubt.
Follow LIVE Blog here: India vs New Zealand Live Cricket Score 1st Test, Day 5
Here is how Twitter reacted after Taylor survived the call…
Taylor, who looked to struggle through his entire stay of 24 deliveries at the crease, was eventually dismissed in the final ball before Tea. Jadeja got to length ball to skid through and beat the batsman to hit the front foot defense as Taylor was dismissed for 2.
With the dismissal, New Zealand went 4 down at the stroke of Tea with captain Kane Williamson on 24 off 97.